The Ice Rink is open in any weather! The ice is not melting thanks to the cooling system. Read more
открыть меню

New Holland Island International Film Debut Festival Education Programme. The Latest Generation of the Finnish Artists' Moving Image: Lecture and Film Screening

11/02/2019
19:30–21:00 Pavilion

November 2

On November 2, Tytti Rantanen, programme coordinator from AV-arkki, the Centre for Finnish Media Art will present a lecture and a screening on the latest generation of the Finnish artists’ moving image. Jari Kallio (Fruits of the Loom) and Alisa Javits (Glitter Dreams) will answer the audience's questions.

AV-arkki is a non-profit artists’ association. It was founded in 1989 and now has over 250 Finnish or Finland-based artists as its members. AV-arkki’s main purpose is to distribute Finnish media art to festivals, events, museums and galleries within Finland and internationally. Av-arkki also has a digital distribution archive and an online archive open to curators, researchers, teachers, critics and artists.

With the support of the Finnish Institute in St. Petersburg.


16:00

Lecture by AV-arkki programme coordinator Tytti Rantanen: New Shoots in the Electric Forest

Finnish video art had a slow start in the early 1980s. Today’s young artists however work creatively with a wide range of styles, themes, and genres within the diversity of the moving image. Their works are more and more often born digital — and international. Their tone ranges from contemporary criticism to new sincerity.

In her lecture, Tytti Rantanen will give an insight how the latest turns in Finnish Artists’ Moving Image relate to the tradition of the art form — but also pave way towards new directions and concerns and broader contexts.

Tytti Rantanen has worked as a programme coordinator for AV-arkki, the Centre for Finnish Media Art, since 2016. In addition to her day job, she studies the narrative of documentary filmmakers in the Dangers of Narrative project at the University of Tampere. Rantanen is also one of the editors-in-chief of the Tampere-based, philosophical quarterly niin & näin, and she has been in charge of the magazine’s film column since 2013. Rantanen’s writings have been published in AVEK magazine, Filmihullu, Lähikuva, Nuori Voima and Tuli & Savu, among others. In addition to everything else, she is currently finishing her doctoral thesis on the French radical film and literature of the 1960s and 1970s.

The lecture is in English with consecutive translation into Russian.

Free admission. Limited number of seats. Please register in advance (link in Russian).


19:00

The latest generation of the Finnish artists’ moving image screening

AV-arkki programme coordinator Tytti Rantanen and artists Alisa Javits (Glitter Dreams) and Jari Kallio (Fruits of the Loom) will take part in the discussion after the screening.

The screening starts with Crush by Reija Meriläinen (AVEK award for Media Art 2019). Meriläinen made her video in collaboration with a YouTube hit Hydraulic Press Channel. Jaakko Pallasvuo’s, Antti Jussila’s & Jari Kallio’s Fruits of the Loom (IFFR 2019) and Jenni Luhta’s Help Me exorcise political ghosts of the future passed. Azar Saiyar’s Monument of Distance is also a contemplation of the cultural history, but in a personal and affective level. Elli Vuorinen’s Still Lives (Milano FF 2019; Nordisk Panorama 2019) is a multi-lingual animation on globally shared modern day pressures acted out by ancient artefacts. The flowing images of Alisa Javits’s Glitter Dreams leads us towards the lightness of trying and daring, the lightness of shining particles. Artor Jesus Inkerö’s Swole is part of a larger documentary project where the artist commits to an intensive and transformative gym and diet regimen — all the while immersing oneself in the vocabulary and thinking of the bodybuilding community. Hinni Huttunen’s Sleeveless / Fearless is an empowered response to fatphobia and the stereotypical ideals of beauty, and a stoic adoration of the slowly moving flesh.

Reija Meriläinen: Crush, 2017, 4:44
Jaakko Pallasvuo & MSL: Fruits of the Loom, 2019, 27:27
Jenni Luhta: Help me, 2018, 05:00
Azar Saiyar: Monument of Distance, 2018, 07:00
Elli Vuorinen: Still Lives 2019, 06:02
Alisa Javits: Glitter Dreams, 2018, 05:43
Artor Jesus Inkerö: Swole, 2017, 07:00
Hinni Huttunen: Sleevless/Fearless, 2015, 02:04

Alisa Javits works in Helsinki with video and installation. She graduated 2013 from Aalto University School of Arts, Design and Architecture. In her work she mixes photographic and filmic working methods. The main theme of the work is the contradiction between the inner and the outer in people.

Jari Kallio is one half of the performance-based artist duo MSL’s. This duo, founded in 2008, focuses on collaborations in various forms. Recurring themes in their work are compulsions, rituals, gender, sexuality and isolation. Bridge over Troubled Water (2016) and Fruits of the Loom (2019) were made in collaboration with artist Jaakko Pallasvuo.

Tytti Rantanen has worked as a programme coordinator for AV-arkki, the Centre for Finnish Media Art, since 2016. In addition to her day job, she studies the narrative of documentary filmmakers in the Dangers of Narrative project at the University of Tampere. Rantanen is also one of the editors-in-chief of the Tampere-based, philosophical quarterly niin & näin, and she has been in charge of the magazine’s film column since 2013. Rantanen’s writings have been published in AVEK magazine, Filmihullu, Lähikuva, Nuori Voima and Tuli & Savu, among others. In addition to everything else, she is currently finishing her doctoral thesis on the French radical film and literature of the 1960s and 1970s.

Films are screened in the original language with Russian subtitles.

Free admission. Limited number of seats. Please register in advance (link in Russian).


The events will be held as part of the New Holland Island International Debut Film Festival Education Programme. The aim of the programme is to introduce the key European filmmakers and their creative methods as well as films by up and coming cinematographers and most current trends in contemporary cinema.

The New Holland Island International Debut Film Festival is a platform for daring cinema, whose aim is to open new horizons and challenge the established formats of filmmaking. The festival is part of the New Holland Island: Cultural Urbanization project and will take place in St. Petersburg.

 
Our website uses cookies. Privacy Policy.

Каток открыт в любую погоду! Лёд не тает благодаря системе охлаждения. Подробнее
открыть меню

Образовательная программа Международного фестиваля дебютного кино в Новой Голландии. Новое поколение финских видеохудожников: лекция и показ

02.11.2019
Павильон

2 ноября

Tутти Рантанен, куратор Центра финского медиаискусства AV-arkki, прочитает лекцию о молодом поколении финских видеохудожников и представит их работы. Режиссеры Яри Каллио (Fruits of the Loom) и Алиса Явитс («Блеск мечты») ответят на вопросы зрителей.

AV-arkki — некоммерческая ассоциациация художников, основанная в 1989 году и в настоящее время насчитывающая более 250 финских или проживающих в Финляндии художников. Основной целью AV-arkki является дистрибуция финского видеоискусства для фестивалей, выставок, музеев и галерей в Финляндии и за ее пределами. Архив Центра открыт для кураторов, исследователей, теоретиков, критиков и художников.

Событие проходит при поддержке Института Финляндии в Санкт-Петербурге.


16:00

Лекция куратора Центра финского медиаискусства AV-arkki Тутти Рантанен: «Молодая поросль в электрическом лесу»

Видеоарт в Финляндии начал появляться только в начале 1980-х годов. Однако сегодня современные финские художники работают в широком спектре стилей, тем и жанров — от современной критики до новой искренности, а их проекты, преимущественно цифровые, выходят на международный уровень.

В своей лекции Tутти Рантанен расскажет о том, как последние тенденции в финском видеоарте связаны с традиционными формами искусства, что не мешает художникам двигаться в новых направлениях и обращаться к новым проблемам и более широким контекстам.

Тутти Рантанен с 2016 года работает координатором программы Центра финского медиаискусства AV-arkki. Занимается изучением форм повествования в документалистике в рамках проекта «Опасности нарратива» (Dangers of Narrative) в Университете Тампере. Один из главных редакторов философского ежеквартального издания niin & näin, в котором с 2013 года отвечает за раздел, посвященный кино. Работы Рантанен были опубликованы в таких журналах, как AVEK, Filmihullu, L’hikuva, Nuori Voima и Tuli & Savu. Работает над докторской диссертацией по французскому радикальному кино и литературе 1960-х и 1970-х годов.

Лекция пройдёт на английском языке с последовательным переводом.

Вход свободный. Количество мест ограничено. Требуется предварительная регистрация.


19:00

Показ и обсуждение работ молодого поколения финских видеохудожников

В обсуждении примут участие куратор Центра финского медиаискусства AV-arkki Тутти Рантанен, а также художники Яри Каллио (Fruits of the Loom) и Алиса Явитс («Блеск мечты»).

Показ начнется с работы «Давка» Рейи Мериляйнен (Премия AVEK 2019 за медиа-арт проект), которую она сняла совместно с популярным YouTube каналом Hydraulic Press. Во Fruits of the Loom Яакко Палласвуо, Антти Юссила и Яри Каллио (Роттердамский международный кинофестиваль 2019) изгоняют политических духов прошлого. «Помоги мне» Дженни Лухта погружает зрителей в темноту подсознания легендарного и многие годы бессменного президента Финляндии Урхо Кекконена. «Памятник расстоянию» Азары Сайяр — тоже медитативное созерцание истории культуры, но на более личном и эмоциональном уровне. «Натюрморты» Элли Вуоринен (Миланский кинофестиваль 2019; фестиваль Nordisk Panorama 2019) — мультиязычная анимация о глобальных вызовах современности, показанных при помощи древних артефактов. Поток образов «Блеска мечты» Алисы Явитс движется в сторону легкости эксперимента и смелости. «Качок» Артора Йесуса Инкерё — часть более масштабного документального проекта, в котором художник придерживается специального режима питания и тренировок, постепенно погружаясь в сообщество бодибилдеров. А «Без рукавов/Без страха» Хинни Хуттунен — уверенный ответ стереотипам идеальной внешности и фэтфобии.

Рейя Мериляйнен: «Давка» (Crush, 2017, 4:44)
Яакко Палласвуо и MSL: Fruits of the Loom (2019, 27:27)
Йенни Лухта: «Помоги мне» (Help me, 2018, 05:00)
Азар Сайяр: «Памятник расстоянию» (Monument of Distance, 2018, 07:00)
Элли Вуоринен: «Натюрморты» (Still Lives 2019, 06:02)
Алиса Явитс: «Блеск Мечты» (Glitter Dreams, 2018, 05:43)
Артор Йесус Инкерё: «Качок» (Swole, 2017, 07:00)
Хинни Хуттунен: «Без рукавов/Без страха» (Sleevless/Fearless, 2015, 02:04)

Алиса Явитс работает в Хельсинки с видео и инсталляциями. В 2013 году окончила Школу искусств, дизайна и архитектуры Университета Аалто. В своей работе она объединяет фотографические и кинематографические методы. Основная тема её работ — противоречие между внутренним и внешним в человеке.

Яри Каллио — половина основанного в 2008 году перформанс-дуэта MSL, ориентированного на сотрудничество в различных формах. Повторяющиеся темы в их работах — навязчивые привычки, ритуалы, гендер, сексуальность и изоляция. Bridge over Troubled Water (2016) and Fruits of the Loom (2019) были созданы в сотрудничестве с художником Яакко Палласвуо.

Тутти Рантанен с 2016 года работает координатором программы Центра финского медиаискусства AV-arkki. Занимается изучением форм повествования в документалистике в рамках проекта «Опасности нарратива» (Dangers of Narrative) в Университете Тампере. Один из главных редакторов философского ежеквартального издания niin & näin, в котором с 2013 года отвечает за раздел, посвященный кино. Работы Рантанен были опубликованы в таких журналах, как AVEK, Filmihullu, L’hikuva, Nuori Voima и Tuli & Savu. Работает над докторской диссертацией по французскому радикальному кино и литературе 1960-х и 1970-х годов.

Показы пройдут на языке оригинала с русскими субтитрами.

Вход свободный. Количество мест ограничено. Требуется предварительная регистрация.


Мероприятие пройдёт в рамках образовательной программы Международного фестиваля дебютного кино в Новой Голландии. Цель программы — познакомить публику с мастерами ключевых европейских киношкол и различными методами обучения, фильмами начинающих кинематографистов и актуальными тенденциями в современном кино.

Международный фестиваль дебютного кино в Новой Голландии — это платформа для смелого кинематографа, открывающего новые рубежи и расширяющего устоявшиеся форматы. Фестиваль проходит в Санкт-Петербурге на базе проекта «Новая Голландия: культурная урбанизация».

 
Наш сайт использует файлы cookie. Политика конфиденциальности.