открыть меню

British Documentary Film Festival

08/09/2017 - 08/13/2017
Amy

August 9–13, 7:30 pm

New Holland and the British Council are proud to present St Petersburg's first In Focus documentary film festival, which includes screenings of award-winning works by contemporary directors, inspired by cult figures in British culture. The festival will take place in six cities across Russia from the 1st to the 15th of August 2017.

All films will be screened in English with Russian subtitles. Admission is free.


August 9, 7:30 pm

Ted Hughes: Stronger than Death

For the first time, the life events of Ted Hughes, one of the most acclaimed figures of world literature, have formed the basis of a full-length documentary film. Hughes' significance is immense, and yet during his life it was the scandalous events of his personal life that tended to take centre-stage — in particular the dramatic story of his relationship with Sylvia Plath, which led to a collision of creative and personal interests that ultimately ended in tragedy. The film includes the first television interview with Frieda Hughes – poet, painter, and daughter of Hughes and Plath. The picture is completed by comments and observations from other family members, friends and colleagues from the world of literature who knew Hughes personally.

Director: Richard Curson Smith, UK, 2015. Running time: 89 minutes


August 10, 7:30 pm

Hockney

The story of one of the most influential artists of his generation. For the first time ever, David Hockney granted access to his photo and film archives, enabling the creation of a candid and unrepeatable chronicle of his long creative career. The acclaimed documentary director Randall Wright affords the viewer a glimpse at some of the artist's extraordinary works, pieces that achieved the height of their popularity during our lifetime.

Director: Randall Wright, UK, 2015. Running time: 112 minutes


August 11, 7:30 pm

Oasis: Supersonic

The latest film from Matt Whitecross (The Road to Guantánamo, The Shock Doctrine, Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll) plunges us into a heady world of rock music, wild revelry and the epic rivalry between capricious rockstars. The film interweaves unique footage of Oasis in concert with outspoken interviews and an extraordinay first-hand account of the conflict between the Gallagher brothers that led to the group's eventual break-up.

Director: Matt Whitecross, UK, 2016. Running time: 122 minutes


August 12, 7:30 pm

Lucian Freud: A Painted Life

A film dedicated to the life and work of the virtuoso portrait artist Lucian Freud. Shortly before his death, Freud agreed to the making of a documentary film in which he was recorded working on his final canvas, a portrait of his assistant David Dawson. The film includes contributions from those who knew Freud best: members of his extensive family, and close friends including David Hockney and Brigadier Andrew Parker Bowles.

Director: Randall Wright, UK, 2012. Running time: 90 minutes


August 13, 7:30 pm

Amy

A film by BAFTA award winning director Azif Kapadia (Senna, 2010) recounting the life story of six-time Grammy winner Amy Winehouse. This film-montage of interviews with the singer's friends and fellow artists, along with unique footage of her performances and even home movies, builds up into a deeply personal and intimate portrait, one that drew universal acclaim from the film world. 

Director: Azif Kapadia, UK, 2015. Running time: 128 minutes

 
Our website uses cookies. Privacy Policy.

открыть меню

Фестиваль британского документального кино

09.08.2017 - 13.08.2017
19:30–22:00
Amy

9–13 августа, 19:30

Новая Голландия и Британский Совет представляют первый фестиваль документального кино In Focus в Санкт-Петербурге. В рамках фестиваля будут показаны отмеченные наградами работы современных режиссеров, вдохновленные культовыми фигурами британской культуры. Фестиваль пройдет в шести городах России с 1 по 15 августа 2017 года. 

Фильмы демонстрируются на английском языке с русскими субтитрами. Вход свободный.


9 августа, 19:30

Ted Hughes: Stronger than Death / «Тед Хьюз: сильнее смерти»

18+

Впервые события биографии признанного классика мировой литературы Теда Хьюза легли в основу полнометражного документального фильма. Значение Хьюза огромно, однако при жизни поэта в центре внимания зачастую оказывались скандальные события его личной жизни — драматическая история его отношений с Сильвией Плат привела к столкновению творческих и личных интересов и окончилась трагедией. В фильм вошло первое телевизионное интервью с Фридой Хьюз – поэтессой, художницей и дочерью Хьюза и Плат. Картину дополняют комментарии других членов семьи, друзей и коллег-литераторов, знавших Хьюза лично.

Режиссер Ричард Керсон Смит

Великобритания, 2015, 89 мин.


10 августа, 19:30

Hockney / «Хокни»

18+

История одного из наиболее влиятельных художников своего поколения. Впервые Дэвид Хокни открыл доступ в личные фото– и видеоархивы, сделав возможным создание искреннего и неповторимого дневника его долгой творческой жизни. Признанный мастер документального кино Рэндолл Райт предлагает зрителю взглянуть на необычные  работы художника, который в наши дни достиг нового пика мировой популярности.

Режиссер Рэндолл Райт, Великобритания, 2014, 112 мин.


11 августа, 19:30

Oasis: Supersonic

18+

Новый фильм Мэта Уайткросса («Дорога на Гуантанамо», «Доктрина шока», «Секс, наркотики и рок-н-ролл») погружает нас в стремительный мир рок-музыки, дикого кутежа и грандиозного соперничества эксцентричных звезд. В фильме переплетаются уникальные записи с концертов Oasis, откровенные интервью и поразительный рассказ из первых рук о конфликте между братьями Галлахер, обернувшемся впоследствии распадом группы.

Режиссер Мэт Уайткросс, Великобритания, 2016, 122 мин.


12 августа, 19:30

Lucian Freud: A Painted Life / «Люсьен Фрейд: нарисованная жизнь»

18+

Фильм посвящен жизни и творчеству Люсьена Фрейда – виртуоза портретной живописи. Незадолго до своей смерти Фрейд дал согласие на создание документального фильма и был запечатлен за работой над последней картиной, портретом его помощника Дэвида Доусона. В фильм  вошли комментарии тех, кто тесно общался с Люсьеном Фрейдом: это члены его большой семьи, близкие друзья, включая Дэвида Хокни и «Бригадира» Эндрю Паркера-Боулза.

Режиссер Рэндолл Райт, Великобритания, 2012, 90 мин.


13 августа, 19:30

Amy / «Эми»

18+

Фильм лауреата премии BAFTA режиссера Азифа Кападиа («Сенна», 2010) рассказывает историю жизни шестикратной обладательницы премии «Грэмми» Эми Уайнхаус. Мозаика, составленная режиссером из интервью друзей и коллег певицы, уникальных записей ее выступлений и видео из семейных архивов, складывается в очень личную картину, которая получила единогласное признание киносообщества.

Режиссер Азиф Кападиа, Великобритания, 2015,128 мин.

 
Наш сайт использует файлы cookie. Политика конфиденциальности.